Professor Michael Friedlander is conjoint Professor of Medicine at The University of New South Wales  and Director of Medical Oncology at the Prince of Wales Cancer Centre in Sydney. He has appointments at The Royal Hospital for Women and The Prince of Wales Private Hospital and has a busy private practice at Suite 20. For patients requiring systemic chemotherapy, they may be treated in the oncology day centres at all 3 hospitals.

Major Clinical Interests include Gynaecological Cancers, Breast Cancer, Soft Tissue Sarcomas and Germ Cell Tumours.

He has been very active at both a National and International level in the field of Gynaecological Oncology. He was President of the International Society of Gynaecological Oncology (IGCS) from 2004-2006. He is a senior editor of the International Journal of Gynaecological Oncology. He was the founding Chairman of the ANZ Gynaecology Oncology Group (ANZGOG) and has held this position from 2000-2008 and remains on the ANZGOG executive and is currently the Research Director of ANZGOG.He is the Principle Investigator for ANZGOG in the US GOG as well as an ANZGOG representative to the Gynaecological Cancer Inter-Group (GCIG).

In addition, he has a long standing commitment over the last 30 years and particular expertise in the management of women with breast cancer .He is a member of the ANZBCTG and has been involved in many clinical trials as well as led research projects on the management of the late effects of treatment and survivorship issues.

Michael Friedlander was instrumental in establishing and setting up the first hereditary cancer clinic in Australia in 1993.He has maintained a strong research interest in hereditary breast and ovarian cancer and has been very involved in clinical trials with PARP inhibitors in patients with BRCA mutations.

He has held numerous grants and has a very active research program and collaborates with investigators in Australia and Internationally. He has published approximately 250 papers including many book chapters and invited reviews.

He has received a number of awards including the Medical Oncology Group of Australia Cancer Achievement Award in 2007 recognising his contribution to Cancer Control and Research in Australia as well as an Order of Australia (AM) in 2011 for service to Medicine in the field of Oncology .He was included in the 2012 inaugural data base of Best Doctors in Australia and New Zealand.